Coverage is partial: we are adding localities as we verify records. A missing locality does not mean it has no data center activity.

Home / Localities / Louisa County

Data centers in Louisa County, Virginia

3 projects and 5 dated records · last verified 2026-11-02

Free weekly digest

Email digest: not open yet

The free weekly email digest is not accepting signups yet, and we collect no email addresses on this site. Everything on this site is free to read. Want it same-day? Neighbor, $4/mo.

Projects

Louisa County

AWS Lake Anna and North Creek Technology Campuses

Amazon Web Services

Approved by right (Technology Overlay District); under development

Size: Lake Anna campus about 150 acres next to North Anna Power Station; North Creek campus on parts of a 1,444-acre tract south of Route 33 (Engage Louisa newsletter; the county document says the by-right campuses total about 2,300 acres)

Investment: $11 billion announced Aug 2023 for two campuses (Louisa County document)

Last verified 2026-11-02 · 2 sources

Louisa County

EdgeCore campus at Shannon Hill Regional Business Park

EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure

Land purchased; campus planned

Size: 697 acres; EdgeCore plans a 3.9 million sq ft high-density campus, closed-loop air cooling (Louisa County document)

Investment: EdgeCore paid $42 million for the park (Louisa County document)

Last verified 2026-11-02 · 1 sources

Louisa County

AWS Fisher Chewning tract (third campus withdrawn)

Amazon Web Services

Application withdrawn (Jul 2025); land acquired

Size: About 1,920 acres near Northeast Creek Reservoir; earlier CUP application sought up to 7.2 million sq ft (29News; Engage Louisa newsletter)

Investment: About $72 million land purchase (29News)

Last verified 2026-11-02 · 3 sources

Records & actions

2026-02-20
DEQ air permit Official record

DEQ's list of issued air permits for data centers shows registration 74299-2 (Article 6 - mNSR) issued 2026-02-20 to Amazon Data Services Inc - IAD - 550 Louisa REB in Louisa County. The list gives no project size or status; the entry says nothing about whether the facility is built.

Source: deq.virginia.gov ↗
2026-01-16
Company / land News report · AWS Fisher Chewning tract (third campus withdrawn)

29News reported AWS bought about 1,920 acres near Northeast Creek Reservoir for about $72 million; a supervisor said she would not support a third AWS campus. Date is the article date.

Source: 29news.com ↗
2025-07-31
Company / land Official record · AWS Fisher Chewning tract (third campus withdrawn)

In late July 2025 AWS withdrew its June 2025 conditional use permit application for a third data center campus (Louisa County document; exact day not stated, shown as Jul 31).

Source: louisacounty.gov ↗
2025-06-24
Company / land Official record · EdgeCore campus at Shannon Hill Regional Business Park

Louisa County announced the sale of the 697-acre Shannon Hill Regional Business Park to EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure for $42 million; EdgeCore plans a 3.9 million sq ft data center campus (Louisa County document).

Source: louisacounty.gov ↗
2024-08-01
Board of Supervisors Official record

In August 2024 the Board updated the Technology Overlay District ordinance, reducing its acreage and requiring a conditional use permit for any new data center project (Louisa County document; exact day not stated, shown as the first of the month).

Source: louisacounty.gov ↗

Spot an error or a missing filing? Email support@virginiadatacenterwatch.com with the source link.

Free weekly digest

Email digest: not open yet

The free weekly email digest is not accepting signups yet, and we collect no email addresses on this site. Every locality and project page is free to read now.

Want it same-day? Neighbor, $4/mo.